New Coach Jaime, A Super Humungous Announcement, Why I can Coach, and TJ’s Gym WOD’s for the week of Oct. 6th

THESE TWO ARE GETTING HITCHED! HUGE CONGRATS TO THE NEWLY-ENGAGED MARCUS AND MEGAN!  WE ARE SO HAPPY FOR YOU AND ARE PROUD TO SAY YOU MET AT TJ’s GYM BACK IN THE DAY.  CHEERS TO YOU BOTH!

IMG_4430 copy

 

PicFrame (1)

 

 

 

Welcome Coach Jaime Jereb!  Jaime comes to us with years of coaching experience, including some quality time at NorCal Strength and Conditioning in Chico. Jaime brings fabulous energy, enthusiasm, and sincerity to her role, and we think you will experience immediately why she belongs in the TJ’s Gym community. We look forward to introducing her to you all, and we feel sure Jaime will be yet another treasure in our awesome coaching staff.

What’s in a Coach?

I have found that coaching people has pushed me to the limits.  I’m not talking about my own personal capacity.  Just the limits that make me wonder what makes my suggestions, tips, or rules right for anyone.  I have an education, but not one like that of a nurse or accountant.  Interestingly enough, the most important parts of my job (CPR, AED Certified) took the least amount of time to be certified.

Today I coached Lyle’s soccer team.  I’m not the coach.  Allison and her co-coach were away at other soccer games, and the ball bag and roster sheet were thrown at me.  Parent coaching is a trip isn’t it?  Many of you have been down this road.  Having stayed up too late on Saturday, I was ready to throw the balls out on the field and Buttermaker my way through the game (Bad News Bear reference).  Only problem was that I couldn’t help myself.  I needed coordination, I needed them to listen to me when I gave direction, and I needed an affirmation from them that they were.  I needed them to repeat the instructions that I had just given.  I needed communication.  And then I needed to yell.  It’s what I do, and I warned the girls that in this format they needed to hear me.  I told them that I would be yelling directions, not criticisms.  But I would be yelling.  I haven’t coached an entire team for a full game in years, but it snapped into focus immediately.  I’m sure that if Allison had been there, I would have gotten a few arm grabs and a few terse hisses of “TONE IT DOWN!” but she wasn’t there.  Kid-in-a-candy-store time.   My directions were direct and simple, “AMELIA…..RUN!” or “LYLE…BACK UP!”  It was more like being one of those guys on the runway directing planes without the flashlight-cone thing.   We scored with ten seconds left to give us our first tie of the season, which was good because we’ve got a goose egg in the wins column.  Kids were psyched, parents were ecstatic, and nobody yelled back at me.  Total success.

My real gig is coaching grown-ups who pay me money, and even though I might want to, yelling would be a bad idea.  So I coach in different ways.  Where the hell did these “ways” come from though?  I thought about it all afternoon, and I came up with a list of “Things that Influenced My Coaching.”  Here goes:

-Wore glasses and contacts from 3rd grade till I got my eyes done in 2000.  Unknowingly bought superman logo frames.  Mocked for that till I graduated from high school.

-Child of Divorce, saw a kids shrink for a few weeks. She chain smoked during the sessions.

-Led the Ramsey Little League in getting hit by pitches in 1977.  Might still hold that record.

-Had amnesia after a ski accident for 36 hrs in 1982, I think.

-Got a my first job at age 14 sweeping a parking lot, putting together the Sunday paper, and taking out the garbage at a “Pharmacy.” (old person reference)

-I know what food stamps and unemployment checks look like but haven’t seen either since I became an adult myself.

-Worked as a middle school janitor while in high school.  That was weird.

-Got the exact same score for the SAT’s twice. and let’s just say it was more Dixon than Mason.

-Got into a college.

-Job in college was to set up stands, tables, and chairs for basketball games and then break them all down, sweep the stands and mop the floors after the games, while being a player on the team.  That was weirder.

-Graduated from college in four years because I was paying for it myself, and that shit is expensive.

-Worked in a lumber yard in New Jersey after graduation.  That was cold.  I also delivered pizza for Dominos at night.  I could fold boxes like a mugga fugga.

-Moved to San Francisco in ’93. My first job was shoveling something called asbestos from an abandoned house in Vallejo.  I was given a used bandana to cover my orifices.  So far, so good!

-I’ve probably had 20 different minimum-wage jobs.

-I was the first personal trainer in San Francisco to have a website.

-Met the woman of my dreams in ’96.  She was unimpressed with the previous bullet point.

-Opened a gym in 2002 the year my first kid was born.

-Considered closing said gym in 2004 when my second kid was born.

-Got my sh$* together in 2006 and started “coaching” for real.

So that’s the story.  I’m kind of like the kid in Sixth Sense.  I see coachable people.  I know what to say and how to say it.  I’m pretty sure it’s because I love it and because knowing what to say and how to say it got me through all the crap I wrote about above.  I’m taking this weird steamer trunk of knowledge and passing it on to our staff.  I’m teaching them to read between the lines, to see the nonverbal, to react appropriately, and to ask questions when asked a question.  COACH, PLAN, GOAL.  Well-defined.  It works every time.

Mon Oct. 6

WOD

All Levels
A. Barbell Glute Bridge; 21X0; 6-8reps; rest 90sec x 3sets
B1. Russian KBS x 15reps; rest 60sec x 3sets
B2. FLR 60sec (scale up to rings); rest 60sec; 3sets
+
Every 4mins Complete @ 97% for 4 sets
10 KB SDHP
Airdyne 30sec
*faster your transitions the longer rest you get

Wrench
A. Back Squat 20X1; 4 reps every 60sec x 8 sets; use 65-70% of 1Rm
B. Hang Snatch + Snatch; every 90sec x 5 sets
+
3 Sets @ 85% Aerobic Effort
Row 300/250m
20 Wall balls
15 HR push Ups
10 Burpees to Target
rest walk 3mins

Metabolic

A. Barbell Glute Bridge; 21X0; 6-8reps; rest 90sec x 3sets
B1. Russian KBS x 15reps; rest 60sec x 3sets
B2. FLR 60sec (scale up to rings); rest 60sec; 3sets
+

“Helen”

400m Run or Row

21 KBS

12 Pullups

+

Every 4mins Complete @ 97%
10 KB SDHP
Airdyne 30sec
*faster your transitions the longer rest you get

Out of Town WOD

Every 4mins Complete @ 97%
10 KB SDHP
Airdyne 30sec
*faster your transitions the longer rest you get

+

400m Run or Row

21 Burpees

12 Pullups

Tues Oct 7

WOD

All Level
A1. 1-1/4 Close Grip Bench Press; 4-6reps; rest 60sec; 4sets
A2. 2-arm DB Bent Over Row; 7-10reps; rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
3 Sets @ high effort
Row 250/200m
rest 15sec
6-10 Dips (hard effort)
rest 15sec
14 Jump Lunges (scale back to walking lunges or goblet squats)
rest 90sec
+
400m Row For Time
Wrench
A. Jerk Balance; 2,2,2,2; rest 90sec
B. Pause Split Jerk + SJ; 1.2 x 4 sets; rest 2mins
C. 3-7 Unbroken Muscle Ups (focus is efficiency without working too close to failure or fatigue); rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
3 Sets @ 100%
5 PC&J (add per set)
8 T2B
20sec AD @ 97%
rest 3mins

Out of Town WOD

3 Sets @ high effort
50 Double Unders
rest 15sec
6-10 Dips (hard effort) or Pushups
rest 15sec
14 Jump Lunges (scale back to walking lunges or goblet squats)
rest 90sec

Wed Oct 8

WOD

All Levels
EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 6 Push Press
Even – 40sec Hollow Rocks
+
EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 30m Waiters Walk (KB/DB in each hand overhead)
Even – 14 Box Jump Step Down (scale down to step up step down )
+
4 Rounds for Time
10 DB Split Jerks alternate feet
10 DB Burpee Deadlifts
Wrench
A. Banded Deadlift; 11X1; 2 reps every 45sec x 10sets

B. Deficit HSPU; 3-5 Unbroken Reps; rest 90sec x 4 sets
+
EMOM x 20mins
1st – 4 Strict Pull Ups + 10 KBS 53/35
2nd – 20sec Airdyne Hard Effort
3rd – 10-15 Ring Push Ups
4th – 2 Wall Walks + 15 Double Unders

Strength

Strength
3 sets
A. Front Squats; 45sec Amrap +10-20lbs over last week
3min Rest
4 sets
B. Alt. DB Bench Press12-16
90-120sec rest
4 sets
C. Heavy Single Arm DB/KB Snatch 6-8/side
90-120sec rest
3 sets
D. Alt. Grip – Dead Hang – Amsap
60sec Rest

Metabolic

EMOM x 10mins (Hold Plank with any remaining time in the minute)
Odd – 6 Push Press
Even – 40sec Hollow Rocks
+
EMOM x 10mins (Jump Rope with any remaining time in the minute)
Odd – 30m Waiters Walk (KB/DB in each hand overhead)
Even – 14 Box Jump Step Down (scale down to step up step down )
+
4 Rounds for Time
10 DB Split Jerks alternate feet
10 DB Burpee Deadlifts

Out of Town WOD

EMOM x 10mins (hold Plank with any remaining time in the minute)
Odd – 6 Push Up
Even – 40sec Hollow Rocks
+
EMOM x 10mins (hold Plank with any remaining time in the minute)
Odd – 3 Wall Walks
Even – 14 Box Jump Step Down (scale down to step up step down )
+
4 Rounds for Time
20 Double Unders
20 Situps

Thurs Oct 9

WOD

All Levels
A1. Pause Thruster; 21X1; 5reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
A2. Ring Row; AMRAP; rest 120sec; 4 sets

+
4 Sets @ 97%
6 DB Hang Squat Clean (for speed and technique limitations you can scale to goblet squats)
8 Russian KBS
15sec Airdyne Sprint
rest 3mins
*quickest transitions possible between movements

Wrench –
REST Day/Make Up Day
-or-
RTW
1min AD
1min Row
1min Jog
1min Jump Rope
1min Crawl
1min Plank
x8 sets

Out of Town WOD

RTW
1min Jumping Jacks
1min Situps
1min Jog
1min Jump Rope
1min Crawl
1min Plank
x8 sets

 

Fri Oct 10

WOD

All Levels
A.2 Hang Power Clean + 1 Power Clean x 5 sets; proper technique is priority
B. Single Leg RDL; 4-6reps/leg; 30X1; 3 sets; rest 60sec between legs
+

12 minute Ascending AMRAP
2-4-6-8-10-12-….
Renegade Row (push up + row R + row L = 1 rep)
*20 Double Unders between each set of RR

Wrench
A1. Hang Clean + 2 Front Squat; rest 30sec x5 (build with each set)
A2. AMRAP C2B; rest 3mins; 5 sets
B. Front Rack Step up (20/16″); 4-6reps/leg; rest 60sec between legs x 3sets
+
Aerobic Efforts
30sec AD @ 90%
30sec AD @ 50%
x16 sets

Metabolic

A.2 Hang Power Clean + 1 Power Clean x 5 sets; proper technique is priority
B. Single Leg RDL; 4-6reps/leg; 30X1; 3 sets; rest 60sec between legs
+

12 minute Ascending AMRAP then 12 minute Descending AMRAP (try to make it back down)
2-4-6-8-10-12-….
Renegade Row (push up + row R + row L = 1 rep) *use situps for the Descending
*20 Double Unders between each set of RR

**Use cals on a machine if you stink at Double Unders

Out of Town WOD

12 minute Ascending AMRAP then 12 minute Descending AMRAP (try to make it back down)
2-4-6-8-10-12-….
Situps
*20 Double Unders between each set of RR

Sat Oct 11

WOD

All Levels
A1. Half Kneeling Paloff Press; 10/side; rest 30sec between sides; rest 30sec x 4 sets
A2. Supermans @ 11X3; x 10-15reps; rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
Tabata Something Else (4 back to back tabatas)
Tabata – Walking Lunges (scale to air squats)
Tabata – Slam Ball or Russian Swings
Tabata – Row
Tabata – Sit Up

Wrench
A1. Close Grip Bench Press; 30X1; 3-4 reps; rest 2mins x 4 sets
A2. GH Raise 5-7 reps; rest 2min x4
+
16min AMRAP
100 Wall Balls
80 KBS 70/53
60 Shoulder to Overhead 95/65
40 Box Jump Step Down 24/20
20 C2B Pull Ups

Sun Oct 12

WOD

4 sets:
A1. Strict Pull-up
Rest 30 sec
A2. Wall Walk 3-5 reps
Rest 30 sec
A3. Renegade Row 8 reps
Rest 2 min

B. 6 sets:
5 Thrusters 115/75
5 Burpees
8 Box Jumps 24/20″
Rest 60 sec

 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

