TJ’s Gym WOD’s for the week of Aug 25th

IMG_5912

 

 

This is a picture of George and his coach, Justin.  George worked out with Justin all summer.  This is what George’s summer was like.  I know what you’re thinking.  George had a better summer than you did.

Something is happening.  This Clear, Concise, and Consistent message we’ve been pushing at TJ’s Gym is taking hold. We’ve been telling you to have a well-defined Goal, create a well-defined Plan, and work with a coach whose responsibilities are, you guessed it, well-defined.  The number of goal-setting sessions I’ve been doing has increased dramatically over the past few weeks, which I love.  Here is the cool part, I’ve been meeting with both TJ’s Gym members and non-TJ’s Gym members.  I’ve been on Skype, sat in people’s kitchens, and have spent time on the phone with folks from other cities, counties, and states.

There is also something else happening.  Other people want to help.  I have been receiving lots of emails with suggested resources that will help people succeed with their goals, and I am so appreciative.  I might have to go on a sabbatical just to work through all of these incredible suggestions.  I won’t, but it would be nice to have that kind of time and focus.

Tonight’s focus is The Stress Test.  This is during the Planning phase.  Here is an example.  I have an entreprenuerial itch.  I really enjoy the process of creating, tinkering, and trying to make something better.  In years past, I’d have an idea come to me, and I’d start pushing it forward.  My exuberance and passion would push ideas forward at neck-breaking speed.  As I’d race by, people in my life would ask a few pointed questions about what I was doing and if I’d thought things all the way through.   I found these questions frustrating mostly, and even infuriating at times.  Their questions were slowing me down.  Didn’t they understand that things happen quickly, and if you don’t act now you are left behind!?  More times than not, my ideas would blow up in my face at some point.  They were right. I didn’t think this thing all the way through.

The process of the Stress Test was the thing I hated, and therefore feared, the most out of anything.  I hated presenting ideas to opinionated people who knew more than me in their line of specialty.  Sure, they were experts, but I had the vision, passion, and energy to make shit happen!  I was invincible with my ideas!  I was struck by what The E-Myth Revisited author Michael Gerber calls “the entreprenuerial stroke.”  I became a zombie, walking the earth with one goal: make this idea happen no matter what.

I’m not sure what happened.  I know for sure that once I figured out that “Nobody Cares” (my blog for next week) and that happiness was created by absolutely nobody but me, I learned how to listen.  Once I refined that skill, I actually started craving what I feared the most.  I craved conversation when someone would shoot my ideas full of holes.  I wanted to know where their opinions came from and what they thought would be a better idea.  By heading down THIS rabbit hole, I have discovered, put into play, and been successful with plans that I’d never before considered and are far better than the ones I’d tried to force in the past.

If you come to a goal-setting session with me, you can be sure that I’ll want you to have your plan Stress-Tested by others.  Go online, ask around, research this plan we’ve created.  I’m a mechanic, accountant, contractor.  I have experience, discipline, and empirical data on my side.  That STILL doesn’t work if you have dissonance.  If you are resistant for whatever reason, you should go down that rabbit hole and see what you find.  It’s only going to help you to define your plan more clearly.

If you haven’t donated to St. Jude Hospital via Juggling for Jude yet, you really should be sure to read her blog post from today here.  Please donate if you can spare a few bucks.  You won’t regret it!

Mon Aug 25th

WOD

All Levels
A. Push Press – 6-4-2-6-4-2; rest 2mins

3 Sets @ high end aerobic effort
:45sec – Push Jerk 95/65
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Anchored Sit Ups
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Row Cals
2:15sec – Rest

Single Arm Farmers Carry – 25m/arm x 4 sets (heavy as you can go) – rest as needed

Wrench
A. Back Squat; 2 reps @ 65% x 10 sets; every 60sec (speed out of the bottom is focus)
B. Snatch – build to a 80% of max; then perfrom 5 singles with 90sec rest
C. Snatch Pull; 3 reps @ 110% of 1RM; 3 sets (straps ok to use)
+
For Time
5-4-3-2-1
Muscle Up
Snatch 155/105 (power or squat)

Metabolic

 

All Levels
A. Push Press – 6-4-2-6-4-2; rest 2mins

 

3 Sets @ high end aerobic effort
:45sec – Push Jerk 95/65
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Anchored Sit Ups
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Row Cals
30sec – Rest

3 Sets @ high end aerobic effort
:45sec – Walking Lunge
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Hanging Knee Raise
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – AD at 90/80 RPM
30sec – Rest

Out of Town WOD

5 Sets @ high end aerobic effort
:45sec – Plank
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Anchored Sit Ups
:15sec – Rest
:45sec – Run
2:15sec – Rest

Tues Aug 26th

WOD

All Levels
A1. Close Grip Bench Press; 4-6reps; rest 30sec; 4 sets
A2. Ring Row w/ feet elevated; AMRAP (-1); rest 2mins; 4 sets
B. Turkish Get Up; 2 reps/arm; rest as needed; 4 sets/arm
+
Every 2mins Complete
10 Burpees
12 KBS
24 Double Unders
x 5 sets
*if sets are taking longer than 90sec then reps should be reduced
Wrench
A. Puase Split Jerk + Split Jerk; build to a heavy complex in 10mins
B. TnG Push jerk – 3-3-3-3; rest 2mins
+
3 Sets @ 90% Aerobic Effort
Row 500/400m
15 Burpee to 6″ Target
15 Shoulder to Overhead (135/95#)
rest walk 3mins

Out of Town WOD

Every 2mins Complete
10 Burpees
12 Pushups
24 Double Unders
x 5 sets
*if sets are taking longer than 90sec then reps should be reduced

Wed Aug 27th

WOD

All Levels
A. Build to a moderate 3reps in the Front Squat
B. EMOM x 7mins – 3 Front Squats
+
For Time
40 Wall Balls
30 Pull Ups
600m Run
30 Pull UPs
40 Wall Balls
Wrench
AMRAP Rope Climbs in 3mins (sub T2B in MV or CM)
rest 2 mins
For Time
Run 800m
25 CJ – (155/105#)
Run 800m
50 KBS (70/753#)
Run 800m
rest 2mins
AMRAP Rope Climbs in 3mins (sub T2B in MV or CM)

Strength

A. Parallel box squats 2reps 22×1; (increase weight by 5-10lbs over last week.)

45sec rest x 8 sets

*Focus on Speed/Core Stability. YOU SHOULD BE WORKING AT A MAX OF 15-20lbs OVER 60% OF YOUR 1RM BACK SQUAT. If your unable to move the load moderately quick decrease the load.

4 sets

B1. Heavy 2 ARM KB/DB Row 6-8reps

90sec Rest *power movement allow body english.

B2. Off Set Weighted deficit push ups 6-8reps @

2mins Rest

3 Sets;

C. Strict t2b; Take total # of T2B from last week & divide by 3. Try for that number for the first 2 sets, then final set is Amrap.

60sec rest

Metabolic

800m Run or Row Buy in

For Time
40 Wall Balls
30 Pull Ups
600m Run
30 Pull UPs
40 Wall Balls

800m Run or Row Buy Out

Out of Town WOD

For Time
80 Squats
30 Pull Ups
600m Run
30 Pull UPs
80 Squats

Thurs Aug 28th

WOD

All Levels
A1. Top Down RDL; 3111; 3 reps; rest 30sec; 4 sets
A2. Russian KBS; 15reps tough; rest 30sec; 4 sets
A3. FLR (floor or rings); 30-60sec; 4 sets; rest 90sec

+

EMOM x 12mins
1st – 6-8 Burpee Box Jump (or step Up)
2nd – 12-14 OH Walking Lunges (DB in single arm)
3rd – Row 7-10 Cals
Wrench –
REST Day/Make Up Day
-or-
RTW
1min AD
1min Row
1min Jog
1min Jump Rope
1min Crawl
1min Plank
x8 sets

Out of Town WOD

EMOM x 21mins
1st – 6-8 Burpee Box Jump (or step Up)
2nd – 12-14 OH Walking Lunges (DB in single arm)
3rd – Row 7-10 Cals

Fri Aug 29th

WOD

All Levels
A. Hang Power Snatch; 3 reps EMOM @ 60%; 10mins

For Time
1k Row or 1.5 Mile Airdyne or 1k Run
-then-
4 Rounds of
6 Hang Power Snatch
3 Wall Walks

*hang power clean for athletes with limited overhead mobility should be considered for part A and for time workout
Wrench
A. Clean + Hang Clean – bar cannot drop between reps; build to a heavy complex in 12mins
B. Power Clean + Split Jerk; every 90sec x 6 sets; build
C. Wtd Pull Up; build to a 3RM
+
Max Effort Wall Balls
1 set – AMRAP Unbroken Wall Balls
*no pauses are allowed
20/14lbs to 10/9′

Metabolic

A. Hang Power Snatch; 3 reps EMOM @ 60%; 10mins

For Time
1k Row or 1.5 Mile Airdyne or 1k Run
-then-
4 Rounds of
10 Hang Power Clean
3 Wall Walks

1k Row or 1.5 Mile Airdyne or 1k Run Buy Out

Out of Town WOD

1k Row or 1.5 Mile Airdyne or 1k Run
-then-
4 Rounds of
6 Burpee Box Jumps
3 Wall Walks

Sat Aug 30th

WOD

All Levels
A1. KB Front Squat; 22X1; 4-6reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
A2. Stirct Pull Up; 21X0; 4-6reps; rest 2mins; 4 sets
*weighted if you can on pull ups
B. 1 Set Max Reps Unbroken Wall Balls – 20lbs/10′ men, 14lbs/9′ women
+
Option A – for those not challenged enough after completing part B
3 Rounds for Time
Row 300m
12 Burpees Over Erg

+
Option B – for those who went very deep into wall ball set
30sec Airdyne @ 85%
30sec Airdyne @ 50%
x 12sets

Wrench
A. RDL; 4111; 3-4reps; 4 sets; rest 2mins (moderate weights, focus on tight lats and upper back)

For Time
for time:
30-20-10
PC (115#/75#)
S2OH
DU

rest as needed

Airdyne 3miles Easy

Sun Aug 31st

WOD

A. Run 200m, 90% sprint pace. Rest 2 min x 5 sets.

4 sets:
B1. L-Hang AMSAP
Rest 10 sec
B2. Handstand Hold 30 sec
Rest 10 sec
B3. AMRAP Push-ups (-2)
Rest 2 min

C. For time:
50 DU
50 Air Squats
50 Sit-ups
50 KBS 53/35

Athletes taking longer than 45 sec to complete run in Part A should reduce distance.

Out of Town WOD

 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

