Goodbye to Eric for now, Defining Goals and TJ’s Gym WOD’s for the Week of Aug. 11th

IMG_0298

We sadly say goodbye to our friend, Eric, as he heads out on an amazing adventure involving moving his family to Tel Aviv for one year.  We wish them a safe and happy journey and look forward to some amazing stories upon his return. Shalom for now, Eric!

*Stay Connected and don’t miss any important TJ’s info!  Keep your eyes out for our August newsletter, which should arrive in your email inbox in the next day or two.  “Like” our TJ’s Gym page on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter.  Be part of our Discussion Board (email Jessica@tjsgym.com if you need an invite).

*Juggling for Jude is going strong. If you haven’t donated to St. Jude Children’s Hospital yet, please consider doing that here.  Skip your latte one day, and make a difference in the life of a kid with cancer.  Seriously. Give ten bucks.  Maybe twenty. It all adds up.  Thank you!

*We will be doing the 31Heroes Workout to honor fallen soldiers this Saturday, August 16th, in all classes.  If you want to register to be part of the TJ’s Gym team and purchase a t-shirt in support of 31Heroes, please do so here.

A Head Like a Five-Gallon Paint Can

I ran into Robert (not his name) again last week and I was completely taken aback.  For the first time in my life I looked Robert in the eye.

Let me give a little history.   He and I worked on a couple of different job sites in the early nineties building houses and in one case a bar (The Union Street Ale House for all you dudes who were single in the 90’s).  Robert is originally from Tennessee and played O line for the University of Tennessee back in the sixties.  If memory serves me correctly, he was drafted by the Buffalo Bills.  During training camp, he was rear-ended while riding his brand new Indian Chief motorcycle, and he broke his neck.  He didn’t severe his spinal cord but did enough damage that football was no longer an option.  He took his settlement money, moved to California, and became an electrician, which is where our story begins.

I say that I ran into Robert again, because every 5-7 years we find ourselves standing in line at the grocery store or next to each other at the gas station or in this case, in line at Peet’s.  I always remind him of who I am, and he kind of lights up when he remembers.  We reminisce, and eventually the name comes up of one of the general contractors who screwed over both of us.  Robert stops laughing, squints his eyes, and in a tone of voice that is usually spoken by Wild West judges proclaiming death sentences by firing squad,  he growls “I should have killed him when I had the chance.”  At that point, I tell him it was great seeing him again, and I scurry away.

Back in the 90’s Robert was a mountain of a man somewhere in his fifties.  6’5″, well over 250lbs, with the largest hands and head I have ever personally seen.  He would pull conduit through an entire house by himself.  For the non-working class/CrossFit folk, that’s like pulling a 300lb sled backwards with a hip belt while tearing a phone book in half, for a few hours.  His hair was (and is) a mane of white that he wears in a style to this day that would bring Sean Cassidy to tears–long, thick, flowing, and slightly feathered.  Gorgeous.  But I digress.  While standing in line this morning, I was sure that I was looking at the back of Robert’s five-gallon-bucket-sized cranium with the yeti-like pelt of hair wrapped around it hanging well past the collar line.  But this guy was a smaller version.  This guy couldn’t be him. He was, well, my size.  Not small, but by no means mountain-sized.

When I saw the profile of the Mr. Incredible-like chin, it confirmed that it was him.  We chatted as usual, but I was not completely engaged because of how he looked.  He had shrunk.  Two, maybe three inches.  He’d lost weigh,t as well.  I wasn’t sure if he’d had a recent illness, and I understand that as we age, stuff like this happens, but…damn.

I don’t want that.

Which is essentially what this post is all about.  There is a whole bunch of stuff that I want, and then there’s stuff that I don’t want.  I have taken on a habit of writing all of this stuff down in a notebook.  The stuff I want and the stuff I don’t want.  It’s the first rule I give when I have my sit-down goal setting sessions.  Without a well-defined goal, you ain’t gonna make it.  And without writing it down, you haven’t committed to it.  Here are a few things in my notebook from the last month.

-I want to go to Hawaii again next year

-I don’t want prostate cancer or to get my prostate biopsied

-I want my staff to feel fulfilled individually

-I don’t want what happened to Robert to happen to me

Some of this stuff is broad and general, and some is a little more specific.  Writing this stuff down has caused me to move into action, to strategize, to geek out on these subject matters.  That’s what putting pen to paper does.  It starts the process of defining the goal.  I have had a pretty specific description from both my pops and a client of mine as to what a prostate biopsy entails.  I’ve gone down the rabbit hole of how to prevent that from happening to me.  The problem is that it conflicts with some other goals I have.  The experts want me to eat a low fat diet, for example.  But I believe in a higher fat diet for overall health and longevity.  This makes me travel a bit further down the rabbit hole by asking questions.  What do they mean by low fat?  Who is giving me this information?  From where are they getting their data?  How do they define fat?

I then start applying my Push, Pull, Bend, Squat system.  What info am I going to Push away, and why?  What info am I going to Pull towards me, and why?  What info is going to cause me to Bend my current belief system around, and what info is going to cause me to Squat and not budge from my current belief system?  This is helping me head towards a solid plan, which comes next.

Hopefully this next week you’ll be able to use some of my suggestions in this series on defining your Coach, your Plan, and your Goal.  In the mean time, buy a small notebook, start writing, and keep on a lookout for rabbit holes.

Mon Aug 11th

WOD
All Levels
A. Back Squat; 40X1; 6-6-6-6; rest 2-3mins (goblet squat is a fine substituion for folks not comfortable with BS)
+
B. EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 5 DB Front Squats + 5 DB Thrusters
Even – 5-7 Burpee Pull Ups

C. EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 10 OH Walking Lunge
Even – Row 15sec Sprint
+
Finisher – 50m Walk (1 arm farmers carry, opposite arm waitors walk, switch after 50m – 4 trips)

Wrench
A. Build to a 1RM in the Back Squat @ 30X0
B. Back Squat; AMRAP unbroken reps with 85% of part A loaded on the bar
C. Build to a 6RM in the Bulgarian Split Squat (rear foot elevated) – Strict Tempo 30X0 (no pauses)
*record the size of the DB or KB you held in each hand
D. 10min Z1 Airdyne

Metabolic
All Levels
A. Back Squat; 40X1; 6-6-6-6; rest 2-3mins (goblet squat is a fine substituion for folks not comfortable with BS)
+
B. EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 10 DB Front Squats + 10 DB Thrusters
Even – 10 Jumping or Burpee Pull Ups

C. EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 20 OH Walking Lunge Steps
Even – Row45sec 75% effort

D.  EMOM x 10mins

Odd-50m Farmer Carry

Even-20 Situps

Out of Town WOD
A. EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 10  Squats + 5 JUmping Squats
Even – 5-7 Burpee Pull Ups

B. EMOM x 10mins
Odd – 10 OH Walking Lunge
Even – 100m Sprint or 15sec Sprint on a machine
+
Finisher -8 Wall Walks not for time

Tues Aug 12th

WOD
All Levels
A1. Push Press; 3 tough reps; rest 30sec; 4 sets
A2. DB Push Jerk; 10-15 Reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
A3. 30-45sec Side Plank/side; rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
3 Rounds for Time
Run 400
21 KBS
12 Dips
*scale run back to 300 or 200m to ensure this workout is a 10min workout or less
*we want a high effort on the run so choose a distance you are confident you can push yourself through

Wrench
A1. Press – build to a 1RM
A2. Weighted Pull ups – build to a 1RM
+
3 Rounds for Time
25 KBS 70/53
25 Burpees
Out of Town WOD

3 Rounds for Time
Run 400
21 Sprawls
12 Dips
*scale run back to 300 or 200m to ensure this workout is a 10min workout or less
*we want a high effort on the run so choose a distance you are confident you can push yourself through

+
3 Rounds for Time
25 Situps
25 Burpees

Wed Aug 13th

WOD
All Levels
A. Deadflit 11X1 – 2 reps every 30sec; 16 sets (shorter rest periods – focus remains on position and building endurance in this position)
+
3 Sets
12 DB Power Cleans
40sec Airdyne @ high effort
rest walk 2-4mins

3 Sets
12 Sprawls
Row 40sec @ high effort
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

Wrench
60min Row for Max Meters

Strength

A. Parallel box squats 3reps 22×1@ 60-65% 1RM
45sec rest x 8 sets
*Focus on Speed/Core Stability over Load.
4 sets
B1.  Bent Over Row (heavy) 6-8reps
90sec Rest *power movement allow body english.
B2. Weighted deficit push ups 6-8reps @ 21×1
2mins Rest
C. 3xAmrap Strict T2B
60sec rest

 

Metabolic
All Levels
A. Deadflit 11X1 – 2 reps every 30sec; 16 sets (shorter rest periods – focus remains on position and building endurance in this position)
+
3 Sets
12 DB Power Cleans
40sec Airdyne @ high effort
rest 1 min

3 Sets
12 Sprawls
Row 40sec @ high effort
rest walk 1 min

3 Sets

12 Heavy KBS

Run 150m

Rest Walk 1 min

Out of Town WOD

3 Sets
12 PUshups
40sec  high effort Mt Climbers
rest walk 2-4mins

3 Sets
12 Situps
40sec @ high effort of Bear Crawl
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

Thurs Aug 14th

WOD
All Levels
A1. Two arm DB/KB bent Row; 30X1; 6-8reps; rest 30sec; 4 sets
A2. Ring Rows; 2020 tempo; AMRAP; rest 2-3mins; 4 sets

5 Sets for Total time
100m Farmers Carry
rest 30sec
10 Pull Ups
Run 200m
rest walk 30sec
6 Burpee Box Jumps
40m Bear Crawl
rest walk 60sec

Wrench –
REST Day/Make Up Day
-or-
RTW
1min AD
1min Row
1min Jog
1min Jump Rope
1min Crawl
1min Plank
x8 sets
Out of Town WOD
1min Machine

1min Row
1min Jog
1min Jump Rope
1min Crawl
1min Plank
x8 sets

Fri Aug 15th

WOD
All Levels
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
12 Air Squats
6 Push Ups
9 Sit Ups
rest 3mins
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Row 100m
8 Step Ups 20/16″
8 KBS 44/26
rest as needed

AD Sprint 10-15sec
rest walk as needed x 4-6 sets

Wrench
A. Clean – build to a 1RM
B. 30 Cleans for Time @ 77% of part A
C. AMRAP Ring Dips Unbroken; rest 3mins; 3 sets

Metabolic
All Levels
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
12 Air Squats
6 Push Ups
9 Sit Ups
rest 3mins
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Row 100m
8 Step Ups 20/16″
8 KBS 44/26
rest as needed

10min AMRAP @ 85%

AD 15 Cals

15 Walking Lunge Steps

15 KB Sumo Deadlift Hi Pull

Wrench
A. Clean – build to a 1RM
B. 30 Cleans for Time @ 77% of part A
C. AMRAP Ring Dips Unbroken; rest 3mins; 3 sets

Out of Town WOD
All Levels
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
12 Air Squats
6 Push Ups
9 Sit Ups
rest 3mins
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
8 Step Ups 20/16″
12 Sprawls
rest as needed

Sat Aug 16th

WOD
All Levels
A1. Single Leg Squat – each athlete chooses what they want to work on. Rep range is 4-6/leg (pistol, step up, lunge, split squat, any type of load, or BW); rest 60sec; 4 sets
A2. Single Arm Standing DB Press; alternate arms; 21X0; 10-12 total reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
A3. Deficit Push Ups; 30X1; 5-7reps; rest 90sec; 4 sets

+

30 Man Makers for Time (50/30)

Finisher – 20 TGU as you want

Wrench
For Time @ 100%
Row 250m
15 KBS 70/53 (choose a weight you can go unbroken)
25 burpees
15 KBS 70/53
Row 250m
rest 12mins x 3 sets

Sun Aug 17th

WOD
4 sets:
A1. Top-Down RDL @ 3111 4-6 reps
Rest 30 sec
A2. DB Shoulder Press @ 21X1 6-8 reps
Rest 30 sec
A3. Hollow Rock 30 sec (hold med balls for added challenge)
Rest 90 sec

B. EMOM x 12
1st: 8 Russian Swings + 8 Push-ups

2nd: 30 sec AMRAP Burpees

3rd: 25 DUs

 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye to Eric for now, Defining Goals and TJ’s Gym WOD’s for the Week of Aug. 11th

  1. Maryellen Healy says:

    I like your comments…

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

