TJ’s Gym WODs for the week of July 28

image (3)

 

Games 2014

TJ’s Gym has had some sort of athlete representation at the CrossFit Games since 2009, so I have a pretty good thumbnail sketch of how the Games have changed over time, as well as an insider’s perspective on this evolving world of competitive exercising.
I used to joke when using that term.  COMP-EX!  It was a way of making light of this thing we all did for health and wellness but, a few times a year, it became a sport, and we would support the folks who performed it competitively.  It eased the tension, brought things into perspective, and made us feel good about what we were doing, which was (and is) watching other people exercise–faster and better than us.
Sitting on the plane on my way home from watching the 2014 Games, I have a new feeling regarding this phenomenon that I haven’t felt quite as clearly  before.  Complete respect.  While I always appreciated  the athletes and their dedication, I’m not sure I was ever able to separate my personal feelings about how this stuff people were doing on a field or court in front of cheering fans was not a game or contest..it was my life.
Let me explain.  I coach, mentor and train on the daily.  From competitive athletes to people who struggle to stand up and walk.  My life is dedicated to making people better, and my highest level of personal satisfaction is based off of watching them succeed in the short and long term.  When competitive exercising crept into my life, I began forming a little chip.  My attitude was that while I personally and professionally thrived from having athletes perform at the highest levels, it wasn’t, well, real.  Reality was having someone with Parkinsons hold my hands as he stood up and sat down on a bench 20 times.  Reality was sitting in hospital rooms talking with people while they received chemo, reality was watching kids swing on rings and laugh maniacally as they learned that exercise can be fun.  Sitting under the Stadium or in the stands, watching people you love perform movements at unreal intensities seemed a little make-believe.

This year, Allison and I went down to Carson later than normal.  Our girls had a performance Friday afternoon, so we couldn’t get to the Games until late Friday night.  Neither of us worried too much about it.  We knew Marcus understood, we knew our community understood, and we could care less about anyone who didn’t understand.  Saturday mid-morning we parked as far away from the grounds as you could get.  Marcus was starting his first event midday, and we got there after the lots were already filled up with adoring fans of this new sport.  We both took a deep breath in the car and held hands, girding ourselves for what was to come.  Two days of heat, humidity, dust, techno music, bare bodies, bro’s and make believe.  All at 11 out of ten.
We walked briskly from the far lots to the stadium, seeing a couple of friends along the way.  We had a ticket snafu, which required us to walk around the entire exterior of the stadium to a ticket booth, which caused my socks and underwear to fill with sweat.  I started getting a little annoyed.  After getting it all worked out, we entered to see more friends in the TJ’s family, then Megz, then the Filly family.  I started feeling a little more relaxed.  As we walked towards the Mammoth Bar tent in vendor village, BOOM!  Out of nowhere appeared Marcus in full workout gear, on his way to warm up after seeing the Mammoth crew.  I have to admit, my heart jumped.  I was surprised at how my level of excitement and nervousness rose at that moment.  I could feel a change immediately, and it was welcomed.
After a few minutes of excited jibber jabber, he needed to run off to get ready.  We connected with a few folks and then made our way to the stadium.  Marcus had endured the “Survival Swim” as we jokingly referred to it, as that was his goal.  He also made it through the massive endurance event with two thumbs up.
By midday Saturday, he was placed somewhere in the thirties and probably not totally psyched.  As I settled in to watch my first event, more started to change in me.  I was distracted for most of Saturday with this feeling that I was trying to define.  I watched athletes performing, whom I’d never met or cared about before.  I watched them struggle and strain.  I watched them perform events that they had no knowledge of before, and they attacked them with all the vigor they could muster.  When it was over, they smiled and waved and reached out in the stands to high-five and fist bump everyone they could get their hands on.  I started enjoying myself a little bit more as each hour went by.  I found myself applauding after each heat and standing up for many of them.
It was exciting as hell to watch Marcus.  While I normally am very stressed when he competes, I saw that he was doing the very best he could.  And wouldn’t you know it, he was doing pretty darn well.  His best finish was during the odd object carry, and when he crossed the finish line and realized that he was third out of fifteen in his heat, he smiled and shrugged as if to say “Well how about that?!”  I realized I was having a pretty good time.  I started figuring out where I thought he could finish and then reconfiguring the numbers after each heat to see how close I was to being right.  I got pretty good at it.
Watching the “Midline March” was probably my favorite, as Marcus started slowly and then methodically, passing people in his heat.  He finished fourth in the heat and 17th overall, securing his spot among the top thirty who were allowed to move to the final workout.
His 2nd place finish in his heat and 11th place finish overall in the “Think and Quick” event was pure fun.  The “Double Grace” was even a highlight, knowing that the end was near.
Watching Marcus slowly improve his overall standings from the time we got there till the final workout also brought some things into perspective for me.  I love the idea of sport.  I love the concept of competition, winners and losers, fans, mania, emotion etc.  I have played many sports in my life and some at a fairly competitive level.  I also have been to 3 professional baseball games in the last fifteen years.  I’ve probably sat through three NFL games in the last decade.  I’ve watched a few World Cup matches and a few Olympic Events.  While loving the idea, I’m not a fanatic of any sport.  I’ve come to the realization that the CrossFit Games and idea of competitive exercise absolutely have a place in our ever evolving landscape and dimmer switch of how much we care.  When the people I care about partake, I spin that dimmer as far right as it will go whether it’s fitness or soccer, and other times that dimmer will barely break the seal.
That’s my rambling discourse regarding this year’s CrossFit Games.  Final observation: it seemed that the CrossFit Games has chosen somewhere around age 25 to be their key demographic bullseye, and I base this observation off of the music at the Games.  I’m pretty sure that everyone knows that the Games DJ is our good friend, Erwin, who also DJ’s our TJ’s Rodeo and  NorCal Masters events.  Five years ago at the Games, you would hear a mixture of ACDC, Eminem, Van Halen and Little Jon.  Three years ago it was a rap/Top 40 fusion.  This year was a techno mashup of other DJ’s and electronica artists.  There was a “twerking” performance as well.  I’ll leave that right there.  No judgements about any of this, just observations.
All in all it was probably my favorite year, mostly because of how much became more clear to me.  As I’ve been writing about in previous posts, that is the key to your own Flow.  Stay tuned for next week where I break that one down.
IMG_3118
The photo of Marcus, Allison, Megan, and me is a great reminder of the reasons we do this stuff–not just the Games, but the whole TJ’s Gym gig.  And on that note, one HUGE thank you to our amazing coaches who seamlessly and enthusiastically ran the gyms while some of us were in Carson.  We are so lucky to have the depth and awesomeness in our staff that we do!

Mon July 28th

WOD

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 11.02.56 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Metabolic

EMOM x 10 min

ODD- 6 DB Squat Clean Thrusters

Even- 10 Cal Row

EMOMx 10 min

ODD- 10 OH Walking Lunges with Plate

Even- AD 20 sec Sprint (105 rpm/ 90rpm)

EMOMx 10 min

Odd- 50m Farmer Carry

Even-12 Empty Barbell Back Squats 45/35

Tues July 29th

WOD
All Levels
A1. KB Push Jerk; 4-6reps; rest 60sec
A2. Barbell Push Press; 60sec AMRAP (95/65); rest 60sec; 4 sets
A3. 45sec Side Plank/side (weighted with DB on hip); rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
3 Rounds for Time @ high tempo
300m Row or 300m Run
30m Bear Crawl
30 Russian KBS (70/53)

Wrench
A. Clean Deadlift @ 41×1 x2 + Clean Pull TnG x2 + Power Clean TnG x 2; 4 sets; rest 2mins
+
EMOM x 15
1st – Hang Power Clean 6reps
2nd – 10 Ring Push Ups + 10 Double Unders
3rd – 10/7 Cal Row
+
Not for time
15 Wall Walks slow and controlled

Out of Town WOD

EMOM x 15
1st – 8 Burpees
2nd – 10  Push Ups + 10 Double Unders
3rd – 10/7 Box Jumps
+
Not for time
15 Wall Walks slow and controlled

Wed July 30th

WOD
All Levels
A. Deadflit 11X1 – 3 reps every 45sec; 10 sets (similar to last week, loads are lighted and focus is on form and hamstring engagement)
+
3 Sets
10 KB SDHP
6 Jump Squats
30sec Airdyne Sprint or Sled Push if available
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

3 Sets
5 Power Cleans
6 Burpee Box Jump Overs (must land on top of box) 24/20
30sec Row Sprint or 8 Tire Flips if availble
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

Wrench
For time:
@90%:
500m row
25 BB thrusters 115#
15 CTB chin ups

rest 5-10mins

For Time
100m FW (100#/h)
20 Man makers (40/25)
20 cal AD
20 OHS (185/125)
100m OH carry (185/125)

Metabolic

3 Sets
10 KB SDHP
6 Jump Squats
30sec Airdyne Sprint or Sled Push if available
rest walk 1 mins between sets

3 Sets
5 Power Cleans
6 Burpee Box Jump Overs (must land on top of box) 24/20
30sec Row Sprint or 8 Tire Flips if availble
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

3 Sets

50m Overhead Walking Lunge

100m Front Rack KB Walk

200m Run

Walk/Rest 1 min between sets

Out of Town WOD

3 Sets
10 Sprawls
6 Jump Squats
30sec Sprint
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

3 Sets
5 Jumping Lunges 2 is 1
6 Burpee Box Jump Overs (must land on top of box) 24/20
30sec Sprint
rest walk 2-4mins between sets

Thurs July 31st

WOD
All Levels
A1. Strict Weighted Pull Up; 21X0; 3-5reps; rest 30sec; 4 sets
A2. Bent Over DB Row; 20X1; 6-9reps; rest 90sec; 4 sets

5 Sets for Total time
Airdyne 18/14 Cals
rest walk 60sec
10 Alt DB Snatches
Run 100m
rest walk 60sec
6-10 Inverted Push Ups (down dog, box elevated, strict HSPU)
Row 140m
rest walk 60sec

Wrench –
REST Day/Make Up Day
-or-
RTW
1min AD
1min Row
1min Jog
1min Jump Rope
1min Crawl
1min Plank
x8 sets

Fri Aug 1st

WOD
All Levels
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
8 DB Thrusrters
20 Double Unders
6 Pull Ups
rest 3mins
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Row 10 Cals
10 Alternating Step Ups w/ DB
Airdyne 10 Cals
10 DB Push Press
rest as needed
AD Sprint 20sec @ 100%
rest walk as needed x 4

Wrench
A. Hang Clean Pull x 2 + Hang Clean + Split Jerk; 5 sets; build; 2 mins rest
B. Every 30sec; Power Clean + Jerk @ 75% of best C&J; 14 reps
C. Back Squat; 20X1; 4reps x 8sets (@ 65%); rest 45sec
+
3 Sets
AMRAP deficit HSPU (45#/25# plates)
AMRAP c2b pull ups
Rope climb x 3 legless to 12′
rest walk full recovery

Metabolic

Same as All Levels:  Remove the rest except for the AD Sprint at the end

Out of Town WOD
All Levels
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
8 Squats
20 Double Unders
6 Pull Ups
rest 3mins
10min AMRAP @ 85%
Run 100m
10 Alternating Step Ups
10 Pushups
rest as needed
100m Sprint
rest walk as needed x 4

Sat Aug 2nd

WOD
All Levels
A1. Rear Foot Elevated Split Squat 8reps/leg; rest 45sec; 4 sets
A2. Single Arm DB Bench Press; 8reps/arm; rest 45sec; 4 sets
A3. Strict Press; 10reps; rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
10min AMRAP
5 HPC 95/65
5 T2B (sub anchored Sit UPs)
5 Burpees
10 HPC 95/65
10 T2B
10 Burpees
15 HPC 95/65
15 T2B
15 Burpees
…. add 5 reps per round

Wrench
3 min amrap @ 90%:
5 Tng C&J (135/85)
5 TTB
5 Burpee box jump overs
+
for time (attempt to build your pace over the course of the workout, stay in control)
10 man makers (40#/25#/hand)
100m prowler (TOUGH)
50 wall balls
100m prowler
50 cal Row
100m prowler
10 man makers

Sun Aug 3rd

WOD
4 sets:
A1. KB or DB Snatch 5-8 reps L side
Rest 30 sec
A2. KB or DB Snatch 5-8 reps R side
Rest 30 sec
A3. Ring or Bar Dip @ 21X1 4-6 reps
Rest 60 sec

B. EMOM x 12
1st: 5 TnG Power Clean

2nd: 15 Jumping Squats

3rd: 100m Run

 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

