TJ’s Gym WODS for the week of June 23rd

photoOur first year sponsoring a little league team, and they went and won the championship!  Congratulations to the A’s!

 

 

 

 

jugglingforjudefacebookJUGGLING FOR JUDE IS HERE!!!!!! Please spread the word like crazy about Hollis and her goal of juggling her soccer ball to raise $15,000 for kids with cancer.  Check out everything you need to know by going to her website.  Like JFJ on Facebook, and please donate if you can!  Every bit helps!

 

 

Here are some deep thoughts from long-time TJ’s member, Rip Fowler, who has a lot of smart things to say:

“When I was new to CrossFit, if there was an RX’d weight that in my mind was possible I would go for it regardless of the workout.  I would struggle through just about every workout. At that point I was super gung ho. I loved CrossFit. It was the greatest thing in the world. I had no idea what I was doing. My success was not dependent on effort but my ability to scale. There was some ego involved but it was driven by my own ignorance and lack of experience.
One day I dragged some 45# DB’s out to the path in Corte Madera for a push press workout. I had used 45# dumbbells one other time in a totally different workout and done all right so when I saw 45 on the board I thought finally something I can do RX’d. I was totally wrong. I don’t remember what the workout was but I struggled through every single rep. Marcus had a very tough talk with me. He was new to coaching I was new CrossFit.  I was defeated he was frustrated with me. I don’t remember what exactly was said but all I heard was “You are not good enough to do CrossFit.”  I was ready to walk away.
From then on I just started doing the women’s RX’d weights but still did not really understand scaling. TJ would always give this speech in person and on the blog about doing the workout at the correct intensity. 
Fast forward four years and here I am today.  I know now that a fast workout with lighter weights can be way more punishing than a long heavy grinder. I understand that I don’t need to be laid out after every workout unable to function. I finally get it and It took a long time.
I have a friend who is new to CrossFit, and she refuses to scale. I found myself giving the same speech that TJ had given so many times. I was talking about intensity and energy systems and all the technical stuff. She smiled and nodded but I am not sure that I got through. I could give all the information in the world and it would not address the psychological side of things.”

Mon June 23

WOD

All Levels
A1. DB RDL (hold both DB’s together in same orientation as barbell); 41X1; 8-10reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
A2. Seated DB Press; 21X0; 6-8reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
+
4 Sets – goal is each set faster than previous
14 Alt DB/KB Snatch
Row 350/300m
rest walk 2mins

Wrench
A. Build to a 10RM in the Back Squat in 15mins
B1. Weighted Pistol alternate 10reps; rest 60sec; 4 sets
B2. AMRAP Ring Muscle Up; rest 60sec; 4 sets
B3. Ring Row AMRAP; rest 90sec; 4 sets
+
1min AD 70%
1min AD 50%
x 5

Metabolic

EMOM x 14mins

Odd – 15 KBS 53/35

Even – Pushups

+

For Time

21/15/9 reps of

AD Cals

Jumping Pullups

+

EMOM x 10mins

Odd – 3 Wall Walks

Even – 15 Situps

Out of Town WOD

4 Sets – goal is each set faster than previous
14 Sprawls
Row 350/300m

Rest 1 min

Mobility WOD 

Tues June 24

WOD

All Levels
A. Front Squat – build to a heavy 3 in 8mins
B. EMOM x 5mins – 3 Front Squat @ 90% of A
C. Bulgarian Split Squat; 3010; 5-8reps/leg; rest 60sec between legs; 3 sets each
+
4 Sets
AMRAP Kipping Pull ups (-1)
20sec Airdyne Sprint
rest walk as needed

Wrench
A. Power Clean (pause at knee) + Power Clean; 1.1 (10sec between movements); 5 sets; rest 2mins (build to heavy complex)
+
EMOM x 12
Odd – 5 Weighted Ring Dips
Even – 5 Power Cleans TnG Moderate
+
8min AMRAP
3 KB Floor Press R
3 TGU R
3 KB Floor Press L
3 TGU L

Out of Town WOD

4 Sets
AMRAP Kipping Pull ups (-1)
20sec Running Sprint
rest walk as needed

Wed June 25

WOD

All Levels
Partner Row
Row 200m @ 90% effort
rest while partner works; x 8 sets/each

EMOM x 20mins
1st – Row Sprint 15sec
2nd – KBS 15 Reps
3rd – 40 Double Unders
4th – Ring Push Up x 12reps

 

Wrench
For Time @ high effort
30/20 Cal Airdyne
– then –
9-7-5
Thrusters 115/75
Burpee Over Bar
Rest as needed

for time – 90%:
500m row
15 HSPU
20 TTB
20 OHS 105/65
35 Pull Ups
20 Wall Balls
20 TTB
15 HSPU
500m row

Metabolic

“Partner Workout”

Partner Row
Row 200m @ 90% effort
rest while partner works; x 8 sets/each

EMOM x 20mins
1st – Row Sprint 15sec while partner holds plank; switch and finish before 2nd min
2nd – KBS 15 Reps while partner holds handstand (don’t start KBS until partner is up and steady) switch and finish before 3rd min
3rd – 40 Double Unders while partner does 20 Hollow Rocks; Switch
4th – Ring Push Up x 12reps while partner hangs from bar; switch

Out of Town WOD

 

Mobility WOD 

Thurs June 26

WOD

All Levels
Run Specific Warm Up
+
Run 400m @ 90%
rest walk 2mins x 4
+
12min AMRAP @ 90%
10 Alt KB Front Rack Step Up (20/16′) – hold two KB in front rack position (44/26)
8 Burpee jump to target 12″ (must be difficult jump)
60m Farmers Carry
4 Wall Walks
2 TGU (1/arm)
Wrench – Rest Day, Active Recovery, or Make Up Mon-Wed Workout

Out of Town WOD

12min AMRAP @ 90%
10 Alt Box Step Ups
8 Burpee jump to target 12″ (must be difficult jump)
30m Walking Lunge
4 Wall Walks
4 Candle Stick to Stand

Fri June 27

WOD

All Levels
A. Snatch Deadlift + Hang Power Snatch (above knee) + Hang Power Snatch (below knee); 10-15mins to work up on this complex
+
3 Sets @ high effort
6 Shoulder 2 Overhead
6 KBS heavy
200m Row
rest 2-4mins

3 Sets @ high effort
Hang Power Clean x 10 reps
Airdyne 30sec
rest 2-4mins

Wrench
A. Segmented Snatch (below and above knee pause); 2 reps (drop bar between reps) 4 sets; rest 2mins
B. Snatch Pulls (@125% of best snatch); 3 reps; 3 sets
+_
3 Rounds for Time
10 OH Lunges 155/105 (in place)
10 Burpee Box Jump Overs 24″

Metabolic

30 min AMRAP

100 Double Unders

75 Cals

50 Wall Balls

25 Pullups

Reduce each exercise by ten reps or cals each round

Out of Town WOD

50,40,30,20,10 Double Unders, Situps and Seconds Running

Mobility WOD 

Sat June 28

WOD

All Levels
7min @ 85%
Run 200m
7 Wall Balls
7 Pull Ups
rest 3mins
7min @ 85%
Airdyne 12/10 Cals
8 T2B
14 Walking Lunges
rest 3mins
7min @ 85%
Row 150m
6 Burpee Over Erg
10 Air Squats

Wrench
For Time @ 97%
15-12-9
KBS 88/70
Airdyne Cals

rest as needed

For Time @ 90%
45/30 Cal Airdyne
20 Deadlifts 185/125
15 Burpee Over Box Jump
15 Power Cleans 185/125
10 Muscle Ups
15 Power Snatch 135/85
1k Row

Out of Town WOD

Sun June 29

WOD

Out of Town WOD

Mobility WOD 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

