Thoughts from El Jefe, TJ’s Gym WOD for Fri. Sept 6th, Sat. Sept 7th and Sun. Sept 8th

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 6.31.06 PMSharing some thoughts tonight from the Disneyland Grand California Hotel, which is where the Belger family has spent the last few days.  Our summer was spent running TJ’s competitions on the east coast, planning the opening of the new TJ’s Gym in Corte Madera, attending the CrossFit Games in support of TJ’s athletes (Marcus and Lisa) and running the day-to-day operations of our other TJ’s facilities.  Disney sounded like the perfect escape…er….vacation, and it absolutely has been–nothing but holding hands with all of my girls while being completely distracted at the Happiest Place on Earth.  I’ve also had some time to reflect on my Labor Day weekend.  I played in a basketball tournament, which I’ve done every Labor Day since our older daughter was one.  For the last 11 years, I have compiled a record of very few wins and a ridiculous number of losses. This year, the stars aligned, and my team–one  guy in his twenties, one guy in his forties (me), and a couple of guys in their fifties–brought home the trophy.  You can read about it from Coach Yago’s fantastic perspective on the Dboard.

The point of this post is what has gone through my head for the last few days since Sunday’s victory.  I had retired from hoops after last year.  My knees have never recovered fully from the 2012  tournament, and  I still get sharp pain when doing full-depth squats.  In the past, it has taken me weeks and sometimes months to get rid of the ache in my hip and low back.  When this year’s registration email came in early August, I quickly deleted it.  There were other follow-up emails, and I deleted those, too. I could feel a sense of restlessness as the final date for registration came closer and closer, until finally the day came and went.  I didn’t register.

A few days later, the emails started flowing in, and I was included, even though I hadn’t signed up.  The joshing, ribbing, and joking from this group who have been playing together for 30 years, was going on in a big way.   The Sleepy Hollow Old Timer’s Tournament started 16 years ago and has raised tens of thousand of dollars for local charities.  Teachers, lawyers, chefs, stay-at-home dads, firefighters etc. show up every Sunday to use a few games of basketball as an excuse to basically, hang out together.  Yes, the  4×4 games are the template, but the conversations, the advice, the stories, the jokes that go on between the games is where the magic happens.  This group of men have taught me the rules of the road.  They were the fathers, business owners, and husbands whom I  met and connected with when I first moved to Marin.  A gym member had suggested I stop by Brookside School on Sundays to see if I could grab a game or two.  This group of guys helped me as a new married man, business owner, and father.  I sat and soaked in all they had to say in whatever hilarious style they would say it.  Some had kids in their teens, twenties and thirties and  they had been in business longer than I had been alive.  They had lived lives that were rich with stories of travel, relationships, successes, and failures.  What I’m trying to say is that this has been a connection that I feel lucky and privileged to have made.

Some 10 or 11 years ago I made that uncomfortable drive to a land called Sleepy Hollow where I knew no one.  I slowly walked up and nervously introduced myself to a group that changed my life for the better.  This past week, while I’ve been swimming in pools with lots of slides, waking down Disney’s Main Street,  riding the Pirates of the Caribbean, and taking in the sights and sounds of this Magic Kingdom, I can’t help but think of how my adventure at this hoops Tournament parallels the TJ’s Rodeo.  While the original goal of the TJ’s Games (as it used to be called) was to test the fitness of our gym members, it turns out that we have created a community event that brings people together and forces them to connect.  You need to share gear in the warmup area.  You can borrow tape, chalk, and strategy from anyone from TJ’s at the Civic Center.  You can cheer and support everyone and expect the same in return.  You can meet people who  “share a common goal of being the best person they can be” (that’s what I like to say in my intro’s).  TJ’s Rodeo is as scary, intense, and nerve wracking as walking up to a bunch of dudes who all know each other and asking “Can I play?”   Test yourself, make new friends, find out what you’re made of, be treated like a pro, find out how much you care about the people around you and how much they care about you.  There is a solid chance that registering for the Rodeo could be the best decision you have made this year.

Fri Sept 6th

WOD

All Levels
A. Power Snatch (pause at knees for 2 sec – ensure knees back positioning); 1.1.1; 4 sets; rest 90-120sec
B. Power Snatch; 4 reps EMOM (lighter, no pause at knees); 8mins

14min AMRAP
2 Muscle Ups (bar or ring) (sub  2 dips + 2 strict pull ups)
4 HSPU (sub = L-sit DB press)
8 KBS Hard

Wrench
A. Power Snatch; 1.1.1; 4 sets; rest 90-120sec
B. Hang Power Snatch; 2 reps EMOM (moderate); 10mins

14min AMRAP
2 Muscle Ups (bar or ring)
4 HSPU
8 KBS (70/53)

Metabolic

Metabolic

Compare to 5/6/13

800m Run

30 OHS 45/35

1000m Row

30 Thrusters 45/35

400m Run

30 Box Jumps

500m Row

30 Weighted OH Walking Lunge Steps 45/35 (parking lot)

200m Run

30 Situps

250m Row

30 Slam Balls

Mobility WOD 

Sat Sept 7th

WOD

All Levels & Wrench
20min AMRAP
1 Clean and Jerk (power clean)
5 Pull-ups
10 Push-ups
15 Squats

*Clean and Jerk weight should be sufficiently heavy that it forces athlete to slow down and focus

 

Mobility WOD 

Sun Sept 8th

WOD

Warm-up then
A. 20 min Open Gym – athletes may work on any skill-oriented task

B1. Bulgarian Split Squat 6-8 reps x 3 work sets (rest 10 sec between legs)
Rest 60 Sec
B2. Single-arm DB or KB Row @ 20X1 6-8 reps x work 3 sets

C. 2 Rounds with 1 min rest in between:
15 Push-Press 95/65
15 F.A. Weighted Sit-ups
15 Box Jumps w/ step down 24/20
400m Run

Out of Town WOD

15 Box Jumps

40 Double Unders

200m Run

5 rds

Mobility WOD 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts from El Jefe, TJ’s Gym WOD for Fri. Sept 6th, Sat. Sept 7th and Sun. Sept 8th

  1. Maryellen Healy says:

    Well written,well said,well done.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

