All Sunday SR stuff is switching CM this week! and TJ’s Gym WOD for Thurs. Feb 21st

feb21

Terence, nicknamed “Tiki” by Yago because he decided to rock the all you can eat Indian buffet right before his first workout ever.  You can’t hide awesomeness like that.

The SR/CM switch this week

8:30 CrossFit Class
Barbell Club
Kids Class

Will all meet at their regular times in CORTE MADERA, while we hold our Masters Mini Camp in San Rafael.

We apologize for any inconvenience this causes!

From Rick Wedge:

This is long, but I have a lot to say and it is much shorter than I really want it to be! 🙂

 
Tomorrow I celebrate 1 year of TJs Crossfit – I am writing this a day earlier because I have been thinking about what I want to say for about a month!

 
A little more than a year ago we got the confirmed diagnosis that my son had Autism.  In some ways this was good news, as parents we knew there was something different and it was actually nice to have a label.  We are very lucky, my son is a very loving and happy kid.  But we were told lots of stuff with the news, things like: Johnny may never live on his own, may not drive a car, may not be able to have a job, stuff like that.  1st let me tell you that we are doing and will do everything possible to make sure our son does all of these things and more!  And he will be happy and loved through the entire process.  As the parent of a child with Autism my job in addition to taking care of my son is to educate.  There is so much misconception about Autism.  You won’t hear me preach, but if you are interested and ask, I have become extremely knowledgable and am happy to share.  
 
When we got the news I was about 2 years removed from my 3rd ACL surgery, I weighed 260#, took antacid every day all day, was on serious cholesterol medicine, had elevated blood pressure and my knee hurt.  I remember having uncles that died of Heart Disease when I was young and they were in their early 50’s.  I freaked out a bit as I realized I needed to be around a long time to make sure my son had every possible advantage in life.  Soon after I was at a buffet and sitting with Lisa Rendic.  I thought I was being nice and brought over a plate of desserts for the table.  I offered them to Lisa and she politely refused, I offered them again and I got “the look” I will never forget. Not sure how best to describe it, but it got me to ask her about Crossfit.  
 
At my 5th class we had to run 400m sprints.  Jason brought us out back – you rested as long as it took you to run.  By the 3rd “sprint” everyone else was done.  As I ran out into the dark and cold here is what I remember, nobody went inside, all my classmates waited for me, some even came out and helped me run the last 200m.  I was totally hooked.  The group thing for me is what made me fall in love with this thing.  I love the accountability to my classmates and coaches.  I love coming in DFL and I love that people cheer for my while I’m coming in last. 
 
After about a month I came in from a run and I was wheezing – as I used to do.  Coach Boone whispered to me that he used to have a similar problem that didn’t go away until he got his diet under control – I don’t really believe him, but it was a great way to put the idea in my head.  Gilly had already spoken to me about diet, so I figured I would go see Marcus.  I ended up meeting a totally selfless guy that put me on the path to eating well.  Not a diet as I have never measured anything and never been hungry.  Rather he just taught how to eat properly.  
 
Everything has changed.  I eat mostly Paleo and it is VERY easy for me.  I weight 210# – I think I would like to weight 198#, just because that has a cool ring to it, but I don’t care very much about the number. I have had to buy a new wardrobe twice.  I am so much stronger than I was.  I couldn’t jump on a 12 inch box and now I can do 34inches.  All the things I couldn’t do that I can now do are just to numerous to list.  But, my blood pressure is perfect, I am off the cholesterol medicine completely and those numbers look great, I haven’t had heartburn in 11 months and my knee feels great!  I reduced my mid section numbers (Marcus says these are really important) from 150 to well under 100 – haven’t been measured in a while, I am guessing they are even lower. 
 
So I wanted to say Thank You to this community.  I wanted to share with you the reasons I started so you can see just how important this whole thing is to me and what an unbelievable impact you folks have had on my life and my family. 
 
I want to thank all of my coaches.  You are a different breed of people and really something I have not experienced before. The joy you seem to get helping others is remarkable and something I have tried to incorporate into my life outside of the gym.  Gilly is my favorite as I am guessing she has coached me in about 1/2 my classes.  I am old, so to me she seems like a college kid and as a result very young, but she is wise beyond her years and sets the tone for a very special thing we have going in up in Novato.  All of you have helped me so much and made sure I stayed safe, I can’t think of how I would be able to repay you.  
 
I want to thank all of the RX / Wrench athletes that I get to workout with.  This is a strange bonus of crossfit, the best of you workout with the rest of us and treat us as equals.  I get to have athletes like Cory high-fiving me during EMOMs.  This is not the way things usually work, but with crossfit and certainly at TJs it is the norm.  It is much appreciated!
 
Thank you to all of my D-Board friends. You folks inspire me daily.  If ever I don’t want to go to the gym, I just read the D-board and find a reason to go.  You let me brag about things like getting my first pull-up and then tell me how great I’m doing while you are doing pullups with 100# tied to your waste.  Or I get to read how excited you are that you squatted 95# and I realize I want to go to the gym and feel the same way. 
 
Thanks to all my Novtucky Peeps!  I really love you guys.  You all make it so much fun.  I want my name on the board and I want to write down my results next to yours.  Simple.  But I want to do it everyday. 
 
Thank you to TJ and Allison for creating this community.  I think I have told you before that while you are both great coaches your greatest skill is your ability to hire the right people and give them the opportunity to change lives.  What a cool thing to be able to do.  
 
I started this by buying 16 classes and I hoped I would loose some weight, I didn’t realize it would change my life.  Now I’m starting to think that I may actually be able to get good at some of this stuff….i may start lobbying for a Masters Division at the TJs games.  If I ever stop showing up at the gym I give all of you permission to come to my house and remind me how great I feel every day doing this stuff.  I don’t think it will be necessary but I hope you’ll show. 
 
I am so thankful for the way things have worked out.  I will pay it forward every time someone new walks through our doors.  My son has a better dad – and hopefully one that is going to be around a whole lot longer!

WOD

All Levels
A. Squat clean; 1.1.1; rest 2mins; 5 sets

18-15-12
Squat Clean
C2B Pull Ups

Wrench
A. Squat clean; 1.1.1; rest 2mins; 5 sets

15-12-9
Squat Clean (155/105)
9-6-3 (5-3-1 ladies)
Muscle Up

Foundations
A1. Sumo Deadlifts; 5 Reps; 4 sets
A2. Push Up (weighted); 6-10reps; 4 sets

12min AMRAP
400m Run
10 Burpees
10 Pull Ups
10 KB SDHP

Out of Town WOD

12min AMRAP
400m Run
10 Burpees
10 Pull Ups
20 Walking Lunge Steps

Mobility WOD 

 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

