TJ’s Gym WOD for Tues. June 26th

From Whit Ball:

I went to Tara Firma Farm, otherwise known in our household as “The Farm” yesterday to pick up our weekly order. We get our weekly order delivered to HQ in San Rafael, but this week due to an error I made in their webstore, our order didn’t get delivered. It’s been awhile since I’ve made the trip to Petaluma so I decided I would pick up our order instead of waiting till next week. I was quickly reminded while driving over how peaceful and beautiful the drive is. When I got to the farm, I noticed the addition of two beautiful horses who are occupying the space adjacent to the parking lot next to the chicken coup. I stood and looked at them for a while admiring their majestic beauty. I popped my head into the chicken coup to see all the baby chicks, I visited with the goats and then made my way into the store to pick up my food. I felt a million miles away from San Anselmo yet I was only 30 miles from home.

My order wasn’t ready – which truly was no big deal b/c I got to watch our basket of yumminess being made. Two dozen fresh, beautiful eggs and a griller’s meat pack with NY Strip, Skirt Steak, Filet Mignon and Ground Beef. Everything that was packed into my basket look so good, that I went into the freezer with the gal who was helping me and doubled my order. I knew after my visit to the farm I was headed to Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, United and Andronico’s to get my weekly marketing done and would need to supplement my meat order to get me to next Friday so I figured why give WholeFoods more money when I can support these amazing local farmers. Yes, meat at the farm costs more than WholeFoods but at least I know where it’s coming from and I would rather give our money to a local farmer so we can help support their mission.

On my way out of the store I stopped and read the sign above and it left me with a lump in my throat – they need 300 more folks to keep the farm economically sustainable. This made me think of the power of community – our community. I’m not sure how many members of the gym are members of Tara Firma Farm so if you’re not I encourage you to grab your spouse, your kids and make a visit to the farm. They have tours every hour on the hour on the weekend. The kids can touch the chicks, feed the horses and the goats. Tell your friends, tell your neighbors – spread the word. Last night, Tara the farmer was at the Mill Valley Gym 1 year anniversary party – she spoke briefly about the farm and mentioned that last month was the first month in three years that they saw a profit. The profit my friends was just $3,000. Tara and her amazing crew work hard and I mean hard – being a farmer is no joke and it’s truly a labor of love.

Again, I say the power of community… join their CSA if you haven’t already, and come be a part of the solution. Visit the farm and learn more.

WOD

A1. Split Squat; 30X0; 8reps; 3 sets/leg; rest 90sec
A2. Dumbbell Row; 21X1; 8-10reps; 3 sets/arm; rest 90sec
For Time
800m Run
30 Power Cleans (135/95)
50 Burpee Box Jumps

Out of Town WOD

800m Run

35 Situps to Standing

50 Burpee Box Jumps

Mobility WOD 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

