TJ’s Gym WOD for Thurs. Apr. 19th

Dr. Vince Freemantle DDS is just a straight up great dude.  I hear he makes a mean batch of cookies as well.  Good choice Karen.

I like to share with you guys the stuff that I’m up to.  It keeps me honest and makes me feel like I’m giving you an idea of where my head is at.  I’m big right now.  Oh yeah.  Fat Bastard, kill small animals if I sit on them, big.  230lbs!  Oh….and I love it.  I love being a big man.  I love the swagger.  I’ve always been tall and skinny fat.  I’ve always lifted weights but I’ve always been amazed at the 6’3″ 255lb tight end.  How the eff does he do it?  Obviously steroids and whatever else but still.  I’ve got skinny wrists and ankles so I always knew I wasn’t going to be “the monster.”  I mean, have you seen my neck for crying out loud.  I realized over time that there was something major missing.  The big man isn’t just big.  Typically he’s strong.  And I was kind of CrossFit strong.  I could put up some ok numbers.  No where near a thousand lb total but ok for an average CrossFitter.  I decided I wanted to change.  I wanted to be strong.  I decided to start on a strength program that required  squatting, pressing, deadlifting and some other things a few times a week.  Best part, no metcon’s.  Guess what?  I loved it.  Admittedly life was rough the last year.  Gym expansion, games stuff, business stuff and basically I sucked at everything so I decided to take on a new goal and get my stress under control and keep it simple.    Just get strong.  I squatted and squatted.  I pressed and pressed.  Good news, I got pretty strong.  Stronger than I’ve ever been.  I’m pretty happy about that.  But I knew it couldn’t last.  I haven’t run, jumped on a box or done a double under in four months.  I’ve eaten a ton and it helped my strength but not great for health, performance and aesthetic change but good for a short term goal.  Now it’s time for a new experiment.  Can I maintain my strength while dropping weight.  My goal is to get to 215lbs by regionals.  Of course regionals is the goal.  I don’t want to look like a slob/power lifter in front of the entire region.  So here is my goal.  Drop weight and maintain strength.  It should be another cool experiment.  Here is the long winded point.  If you plan on being healthy, strong and fit for the rest of your life, you’d best come up with a few experiments along the way.  Doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results.  You’ve heard that one before right?  Come to your coaches with questions and goals.  Mix it up and attack your weaknesses.  We will have some cool announcements in May that will help you lay out some ground work.  I will continue to keep everybody up to date on what I’m doing.  It will at least be interesting for me.

I’ve got a post up on the dboard regarding rules for the May Sugar Challenge.  I am open to suggestions about rules and I will make the rules final at the end of April.

WOD 

3 Sets
60sec – Power Clean 115/75
60sec – Walking Lunges
rest 2mins

3 Sets
45sec – Hang Power Clean 95/65
45sec – Sit Ups
rest 90sec

3 Sets
30sec – KBS 53/35
30sec – Burpees
rest 60sec

Out of Town WOD

3 Sets
60sec – Sprawls
60sec – Walking Lunges
rest 2mins

3 Sets
45sec – Burpees
45sec – Sit Ups
rest 90sec

3 Sets
30sec – Rev Burpees
30sec – Burpees
rest 60sec

Mobility WOD 

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

