TJ’s Gym WOD for Thurs. Aug. 11th, 2011

The Men:

As I sit here I can recall dozens of amazing examples of how Marcus has awed us all, from his OHS and pullups at Regionals, to his muscle ups and rope climbs and pretty much every movement in the chipper WOD at the Games. But these feats are are all overshadowed by the moment I had with him right after the last workout.  As I was heading towards the bowels of the stadium to gather my team, I knew that there was going to be disappointment and sadness.  Don’t get me wrong, 11th in the world is something I will always treasure.  But I knew that our team wanted more, and it wasn’t going to happen this year.  As I turned the corner, Marcus and I  practically bumped into each other.  We hugged, and he looked me right in the eye and said all the right things at  exactly the right time, and I will hold that moment forever.  The best part about Marcus is that he says what he feels.  If he isn’t sure how he feels, he doesn’t say anything until he is sure.  We know he has amazing physical gifts and his coaching ability is second to none.  But the lucky ones, those of us who have had occasion to bare our souls to him, are blessed with insight and an intuitive nature that you won’t find in people twice his age with ten times the life experience.

Danny:

I’m going to say this twice.  Danny has been CrossFitting for six months.  Danny has been CrossFitting for six months.  Is that sinking in?  At this point there isn’t anyone who could argue that he isn’t the strongest competitive CrossFitter in the world.  He also acquired all the speed, gymnastics, plyometric and endurance components to make himself one of the most well-rounded competitors in CrossFit.  In 6 months.  But Danny brought our team to another level for other reasons, primarily because whenever he was in the room, at some point, everyone was laughing.  He has been on enough teams to know that if you aren’t having fun it isn’t worth doing it, and he brought that  component to our team in spades.  But that still isn’t what defines him to me.  Danny has become one of my closest friends.  My girls adore him.  He is as loyal a human being as I have ever met and someone who I wouldn’t hesitate to ask for anything.  I just want to be around him and as we all know, it’s going to be fun if you are. Thanks, Danny.

Yago

My Yags.  This is my boy.  One of the best all-around athletes I have ever met.  This guy just comes through.  It’s what he does.  When he’s asked to step into a role for the team it’s always: “Sure.” He possesses the ability to step back, take it in, process it and then react, which I need more of in my life.  I enjoy my conversations with him so much that I try to figure out when he’s not working, so.  I can coordinate my workouts around the time that he’s doing his.  He and I have been through a lot together in and out of this gym.  He’s been my guy to bounce things off.   He’s the one who I know will listen and just hold onto something I need to say.  He’s been a rock for our team for the last three years.  Every year, when I ask him if he’s up for it,  he smiles and shrugs and says, “If I can do it and you want me.”  The shocking thing is that he never spent a lot of time on teams growing up, but he fills such a vital role that I can’t imagine ever doing battle without him.  There’s a lot to be dazzled by in Yago, from the good looks to the matching outfits, but I’ve been lucky enough to get on the inside, and it’s even prettier in there.

This team has inspired an entire community to simply be better.  You have all  made me proud and you have brought the  TJ’s name to a worldwide audience.  You have made me feel things in my gut that I haven’t felt since I was in the delivery room.  You have made me cry, scream and nearly pass out.   The greatest gift that you have given me is that I will forever and ever be able to say that I was there when…….

WOD

Handstand Push Up/Handstand Practice
*Rings, Paralletes, Free Standing

Fort Time:
50 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
40 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
30 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
20 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
10 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees

Out of Town WOD

Handstand Push Up/Handstand Practice
*Rings, Paralletes, Free Standing

Fort Time:
50 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
40 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
30 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
20 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees
10 Sit Ups
10 HSPU
10 Burpees

Mobility WOD

About tjsgym

Owner of TJ's Gym
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

